Let’s vote for new seven wonders


Only one of the ancient wonders of the world still survives — now history lovers are being invited to choose a new list of seven.

Check out the exciting New 7 Wonders of the World campaign, the world’s first-ever global vote.

The vote is organized by a non-profit Swiss foundation called New7Wonders which specializes in the preservation, restoration and promotion of monuments, and the results will be announced on July 7, 2007, in Lisbon.

About 20 million votes have already been lodged, including many from India, for the Taj Mahal; China, for the Great Wall and from Peru for Machu Picchu, the fortress city of the Incas.

I just voted for my favorite 7 of the 21 finalists that are competing. I am afraid that Indonesia’s Borobudur temple was out of the list.

The 21 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World, alphabetically:

  1. Acropolis, Athens, Greece
  2. Alhambra, Granada, Spain
  3. Angkor Wat temple, Cambodia
  4. Chichen Itza Aztec site, Yucatan, Mexico
  5. Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  6. Colosseum, Rome
  7. Easter Island Statues, Chile
  8. Eiffel Tower, Paris
  9. Great Wall, China
  10. Hagia Sophia church, Istanbul, Turkey
  11. Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan
  12. Kremlin/St.Basil’s, Moscow
  13. Machu Picchu, Peru
  14. Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany
  15. Petra ancient city, Jordan
  16. Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
  17. Statue of Liberty, New York
  18. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom
  19. Sydney Opera House, Australia
  20. Taj Mahal, Agra, India
  21. Timbuktu city, Mali

Go to www.new7wonders.com to pick your favorite monuments and vote. Be part of the making of history!



Leave a Reply